Sembee Archive

Sembee Archive

Custom Text on Workstation Locked Screen

Last reviewed: 19/02/2011

If you have multiple machines connected to one monitor via a KVM, it can sometimes be difficult to tell which machine you are looking at when scrolling through the machines. This is especially the case if the KVM doesn't have a display or you cannot see it. If the machine is locked then you cannot put anything on the screen to see what machine it is.

There are a couple of ways round this.

  • You could create a custom wallpaper with the machine name on as the background. Can look a little messy.
  • You could install a third party application such "Computer Name Service" which puts machine information on the screen all the time.
  • You could use a screensaver such as Marquee with the machine name running - but move the mouse you loose the screensaver.
  • Or you could put some custom text that appears on both the login screen, and the "Workstation Locked" screen.

This is a feature of Windows that requires adding a new string value to the registry. The information is below, and the string value that has to be added is the "Welcome" part. After creating a new strong value called Welcome, you can add your own text.
In our experience adding a space and then a " - " before the text makes the text look more natural.

You could have some fun with this feature. Instead of the computer name you could put something different. We have seen:

  • Workstation Locked - so I am not here. Why are you?
  • Workstation Locked because I am too sexy for this machine.
  • Workstation Locked - so hands off.
  • Workstation Locked to keep you out.

This is the string value. If you don't want to modify your own registry by hand, copy and paste the following text in to notepad, adjust the message and save it as locked.reg, changing the file type to All Types so that it is saved as a registry file. Then double click on it to install.

Registry Disclaimer: We cannot be held responsible for any damage done to your machine by using registry files or following any of the advice given on this site. Modification of your registry is done at your own risk. You should always have a back up of your registry before making any changes.